HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: Teaching ESL Online

A Review of Zoom.us for Teaching Online Lessons

527 ratings | 82471 views
Try it out here: https://fave.co/2PCDG2j (this is my affiliate link). ---- In this video, I show you inside the video platform called Zoom, and go into depth on what it offers. The biggest advantage of using Zoom is that it provides excellent connection, which is especially advantageous if you have low bandwidth. Additionally, the use of the annotations when sharing a screen (to be used like a whiteboard) can make the lesson much more interactive. One cool feature is that you can record your lessons, which are saved on your hard drive. You can schedule recurring lessons, add events to your calendar, use chat and have it sent to you, and there are many other features too. The one drawback in my view is that a lot of your learners won't have heard of Zoom. This would mean having to help them with setting up. Please let me know your thoughts below this video. Here is the post that accompanies this article: http://www.teachingeslonline.com/zoom-review-teach-online Subscribe on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=teachingeslonline Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/teachingeslonline Twitter: https://twitter.com/eslonlinejack
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (104)
Teaching ESL Online (4 months ago)
The best way to know if it's for you or not is to play around with it. Download it here: https://fave.co/2PCDG2j (affiliate link)
Hana Hudson Cooking (18 days ago)
Hi, I have a few questions: 1. Can you link zoom meeting on FB? 2. Can you use slides during zoom meeting and how? I want to launch my online personal growth class but I don't know how to start and what is the easiest software to use. Thank you so much! here is the email you can answer to : [email protected]
Very helpful thank you.
Beautifull, thank you! I was just looking for a sort of review like yours to get my online workshop going on!!! Amazing! Your input was precious!
Teaching ESL Online (3 months ago)
Thank you!
Sumnder Makhijani (3 months ago)
Global news for future children worldwide ⛸⛸⛸⛸⛸❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Lucy Mary Johnson (4 months ago)
Hi. I have only one student who I teach via Skype, nevertheless, I installed zoom and followed your explanation. Got only the basic, cus there is a lot to learn yet. Anyway, do I need her to install zoom on her computer as well?
Teaching ESL Online (4 months ago)
Yes. Your learners need to download the app too. You can create basic instructions as a PDF for your learners to follow.
Andrea Bricchetto (4 months ago)
Grazie Jack, really! Buona giornata! Have a good day! Andrea
Lucy Mary Johnson (4 months ago)
HI, I just watched your video explanation, and to teach online I have a lot to learn, anyway, my question is does my student need to download zoom as well?
Teaching ESL Online (4 months ago)
Yes.
Lori Karpman (5 months ago)
thanks this was very helpful!
Feona Lee Jones (5 months ago)
I am wondering if I can use audio form my keyboard (as direct ins into my interface) AND also audio from an external mic?
Eli G (6 months ago)
prices are up since then
Au Nguyen (6 months ago)
Great app for a teacher like me. Can I provide different passwords to different student to join my class?
Kristy Artello (6 months ago)
Is there a way for students "to raise their hands" in the program if I ask a question or they have a question?
Sally Steedman (6 months ago)
Well that was a waste of time...
Andrés Lozano (6 months ago)
can i use this Zoom software with a tablet? I am considering to use a tablet to start with some online classes but i also need an app that has got a whiteboard or something like that
Jennifer Boren (7 months ago)
Hi Jack, how do I accept payments from a student when using Zoom? Thanks.
Educator Sharmin (10 months ago)
I teach 9th grade English. I think its really great idea.
Fiona Collins (1 year ago)
Hi there- do you have a video on effectively using the zoom platform for your student? I am an older teacher, with lots of experience teaching, but I need extra help to use Zoom- i understand the basics but get tripped up in minimizing / maximizing, as well as using power points or other visuals when so much is already going on?
Debbie Garner (1 year ago)
Hi I have got a zoom interview with 51 talk, does that mean the lessons will be on zoom also, do you know anything about 51 talk. As then you have to pay for zoom for that I think
Debbie Garner (1 year ago)
Is it free like skype
Amy Wolf (1 year ago)
Also, does it record audio AND the presentation? thanks!
Amy Wolf (1 year ago)
So you can use Google slides to do a presentation?
Rob McCray (1 year ago)
Great video, thanks for sharing
Adriana C (1 year ago)
I am offering a free class. I have just 2 student but my lessons last 90 minutes. That it means I have to pay $30 to teach that course through Zoom? Is any alternative?
Eric Palmer (1 year ago)
Thanks. I'm curious, how did you record the whole youtube video and then start zoom or was this whole thing a recorded zoom session. Thanks for the video. I watched a recorded Python programming lesson this weekend that was done with Zoom and decided I would give it a go. I don't do training per se but I do help others on my team configure software and more. Zoom seems helpful.
Nomsa Ledwaba (1 year ago)
I have been looking for people I can practice teaching on Zoom. I am about to start teaching Mathematics online. Is there a video which you talk about how to request people who are familiar with Zoom app to practice with? May you kindly advise.
CDPLABS Eduservices (1 year ago)
excellent
Good Day!Thanks for your view!I need practice!Thanks!
I_ Eng (1 year ago)
zoom is a wonderful app
Gina Ritchie (1 year ago)
This is helpful. Do you have any videos on using the whiteboard feature?
Margaret Morris (1 year ago)
Hello, Jack...thanks for the informative video on using Zoom. Question...can I incorporate a camera with Zoom in order to show what I am talking about? I am thinking about a document camera. Would that be a matter of sharing your screen?
Hi, Just a small question from me. Is it possible to view 3 or 4 four screens of the students if I am using Zoom to conduct lessons. I understand I can share my screen with them . If I share all those screen of them to view them on my screen and zoom when I like to see the individual screen of anyone of them, how I can do it . Please explain. Kind Regards Gav
Sergio Masala (1 year ago)
Hello Jack. I have ZOOM instaled on my IPAD and the setting options are very reduced. I also have de pro version on my PC, but the thing is that I need to use my tablet for my workshop of handmade soap holding by my telecopic arm. Could you make a tutorial about the app version?. I cant find the way to recorder my classes. Greetings from Spain.Thank you very much.
Amit Nambiar (2 years ago)
Hi Jack, thanks for a video. I have a query: I have a classroom of students and I want to invite guest lecturers to deliver web lectures to my students. I can't have them install any software. Is it possible for them to engage the lecture using some sort of web plugin? The far end lecturer will require video,audio and a whiteboard, how can we make this possible?
Katherine Shadwick (2 years ago)
Thank you for a very informative video! Would you please say which camera you are using? I'm trying to find one that will show a clear view, like yours - it's so important during lessons. Thank you.
Question: Can the participants share their screens or do any of the "whiteboard" things you shared about? Can they engage back with me in any way other than the chat box and obviously speaking/video?
Thank you for doing this video! I'm trying to learn about zoom for a new job!
Hello Jack! I would like to know what webcam did you use for this video tutorial? it's very clear!
Simon Fitzpatrick (2 years ago)
Hi Jack - very informative video! I'm advising colleagues on which system to use to deliver an online course - Zoom looks like a real contender, but how would it handle things like breakout rooms? For example if you divided your learners into groups and told them to go away and do something then report back - how might Zoom handle this? Hope you can help..!
Antony Stringfellow (1 year ago)
Hi Simon - I know your question is directed at Jack but felt I had to respond as I already know the answer to that one. You can devide the class into as many groups as you like. You can then choose the participants for each group or let Zoom choose them randomly. Then, you can set a time limit for the group. You can also message everyone in the groups, to remind them that their time is nearly up, for example.
Sam Flake (2 years ago)
Thank you so much...very informative
Leonel Molbert (2 years ago)
Thanks There:) I'm local English teacher and I've been looking for an app like to present this idea of not having to always meet in person. I'm extremely happy the free account holds so many features. I haven't yet played with it. Today's date is 06-12-16. The whiteboard is what really calls my attention. I often use worksheets from HANDOUTSONLINE. I imagine I won't have a problem uploading them and using them along the whiteboard. Newbie here:) thanks for the sopport :) Leonel from Spain
alfred scm (6 months ago)
Leonel Molb
Hans Muer (2 years ago)
Hello! I currently use Skype, but have to use a third party software to project separate camera angles for my students. I'm not sure this other software is doing the job because of audio/video lag. I didn't see you mention anything about multiple screen usage. Does Zoom provide ? Thanks so much
Phil Brenman (2 years ago)
Been watching your video and been teaching English on-line with SKYPE for the about 3 months. I certainly see some possibilities with ZOOM and is obviously the next step for me. Something that I would like to do is import the writing assignment of my student to the platform, copy and paste it to another Word Perfect file. With the two copies side by side, I can then start making then make the necessary corrections on the second copy while at the same time explaining why I am making them. Do you have a video link that explains how I can do this? Thanks Phil
Roman Sky (2 years ago)
Very useful Tool. I'm thinking right now, what to choose Zoom or Skype for business?
Manda Selva (2 years ago)
can I create a power point presentation and share it with my students through screen share? Also, when I schedule, do I schedule a group meeting or webinar if I want to teach classes. What is the difference. In my class I do want some interaction from student. Thanks
Dan O'Connor (2 years ago)
Great video! Can I show / record the participant video or screen share full screen with NO video / avitar / profile photo from me on the screen or recording? Thanks!
Kathryn Stanley-Hart (2 years ago)
Thanks very informative
Teaching ESL Online (2 years ago)
Thank you!
Edy Kizaki (2 years ago)
hi, thanks... I have a question, if I share my screen (I have only tried this once) showing the students a video with a song, they cannot hear the song if I have my earphones on. When I unplug my earphones they can hear the song, I assume through my built-in mic, but it is bad quality or too quiet. Is there a way to show a video and get good sound? Many thanks for your help.
souocara38able (2 years ago)
thanks for the tutorial I hope you're still following these comments. I have to get set up tonight for a meeting tomorrow and I'm not sure what Hardware I need. I need a webcam and I already have a headset with microphone I don't know if that will work. Somebody suggested h2n recorder that I think he uses in conjunction with his phone to make a microphone but I'm a little confused about that part. will the microphone in the webcam work? Thank you !
Teaching ESL Online (2 years ago)
How did it go? What did you use?
Stacy Linn (2 years ago)
Hi... You clicked on the settings way to fast. I watched it several times and can't see what you pressed on.
Teaching ESL Online (2 years ago)
You'll soon get used to it if you download it and have a play around.
La Mansion del Ingles (2 years ago)
Thanks for posting this, Jack. Looks like I'll be testing Zoom with my students next week as a possible replacement for Blab. Cheers!
Teaching ESL Online (2 years ago)
Let me know how it goes.
Thérèse Maré (2 years ago)
Hi Jack. When creating a meeting - which time zone do you use? The teacher's or the student's?
Teaching ESL Online (2 years ago)
A lot of the booking software will automatically calculate this for you. When arrange times over Skype or email, I use the learner's time zone to make it easier for them.
Neptuno Lestrange (2 years ago)
Thank you, with this information i will use zoom for first time... regards from Matamoros Mexico.
Mrs. Kerry (2 years ago)
I teach K-3 online and am considering Zoom. Can you tell me if the host has a way to mute participants while in presentation mode?
Zoriana Diak (8 months ago)
Yes, you have this option
Teaching ESL Online (2 years ago)
+Mrs. Kerry Yes, you can do that. You can even kick people out for a certain amount of time!
Claudia Ng (2 years ago)
Hi there! thank you for being so clear!I was trying to navigate the zoom platform to use in teaching classes and now I'm a lot more confident
Teaching ESL Online (2 years ago)
+Claudia Ng I'm happy it helped you.
Richard Yap (3 years ago)
Thanks Jack for the video. I'm just wondering whether there is a Chinese version of the software? It would be good if there is so that I can use it for my students from China. Would be great if the annotation feature will allow Chinese texts input.
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+Richard Yap I contacted Zoom and they told me that the software works in China.
JeanMarie Murphy (3 years ago)
Thanks Jack…your instructions are very helpful. I am working with women around the world and feel transitioning to Zoom will allow for greater interaction. Love the screen sharing and that I can chat individually with participant's, even as others are muted.
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+yoniyoganidra Did you start using it? If so, do you like it?
Sandy Alemian (3 years ago)
Thank you so much for this video!! Much appreciated Jack!
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+Sandy Alemian My pleasure, Sandy.
Peter Hughes (3 years ago)
Thanks to jack I have been using Zoom since I followed the link from his email link to this review. I had a chat with Zoom not so long ago and they are currently working on an update to the annotation toolbar that will include text (typing) feature soon. It keeps getting better.
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+Moh Mateen That's a great update. They received funding and seem committed to building a great platform.
Anil Agrawal (3 years ago)
Thanks for this! Which screen recording tools (software, video camera, & microphone) you used for making this video. Thanks again.
Anil Agrawal (3 years ago)
+Teaching ESL Online Thanks for responding. Do you happen to know that when doing a webinar and screen sharing, if a video is played on the computer, how would the audio go through assuming an external microphone is connected for me to speak? Is there an option that the audio is automatically switched to the video and then back to the microphone when the video stops?
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+Anil Agrawal Screenflow. I love it.
ttnah5 (3 years ago)
Can a teacher share a short youtube video on his/her screen, and then lead a discussion? Will everyone be able to see the youtube vid? Thank you for this wonderful tutorial : )
KaterinaTalantliva (3 years ago)
Hey Jack, thanks for another useful vid - i will definitly use zoom!. constructive critisism - your link to your website is under the streamline - it's not comfy to get to it. and the subscribe button is so small it looks like a joke or a bug of some sort - annoying. thanks
Monica Dugie (2 years ago)
How do I share hand outs on the screen share? Is there a way to upload?
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+KaterinaTalantliva Thanks for the feedback. Will change those things for future videos.
Thanks for this, Jack! I think it's a great alternative to Hangouts and Skype. I've used is as a participant, and now I'll be using it for follow-up chats with my readers. Good stuff!
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
I'm sure you're going to love it!
Lizette Reyes (3 years ago)
camera not woking after I installed an update :(
Lizette Reyes (3 years ago)
+Lizette Reyes I DID IT!!! I had to uninstall the 3ivx one … this was the options to try if anyone is having issues on their Mac. I could share the screen but the camera was not allowing me to do that split screen … thanks I hope this helps anyone having issues :) Delete any of the following files:Sonix SN9C201 WebCam.component Sonix SN9C102p WebCam.component DesktopVideoOut.component VideoGlide.component 3ivxVideoCodec.component
Lizette Reyes (3 years ago)
+Teaching ESL Online - Hello and thank you for responding so quickly. Yes Zoomus.com and I did send a message waiting :(
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+Lizette Reyes Have you contacted their support? You're talking about Zoom, right?
SeeYouBeFree (3 years ago)
Great video! I found it very quick and helpful.
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+SeeYouBeFree I'm glad! Thanks for letting me know.
John Wang (3 years ago)
Hello Jack, it is very useful video. I'd like to ask if students can talk or on video too during the class like on Skype? Can 2 students have a conversation at the same time? Thank you.
Richard Brown (7 months ago)
Teaching ESL Online l
John Wang (3 years ago)
That's great!!
Teaching ESL Online (3 years ago)
+John Wang Yes. This was something they introduced a few months ago. It used to be a premium service but now it's free.
Random Zzz (3 years ago)
Ww what is the difference between business plan and education plan?
Teaching ESL Online (4 years ago)
Zoooooooooooooooooooooom! Watch this video to see why so many online teachers have started using Zoom video conferencing to teach online.
Hi, Teaching ESL Online.I can't use whiteboard. It doesn't work. Any help?
A (2 years ago)
Teaching ESL Online e
Brett Phillips (4 years ago)
Hi Jack, are you planning on using Zoom yourself with your students? Are the features of the free Basic package sufficient for the average online teacher? How about for yourself?
Teaching ESL Online (4 years ago)
I have used it in the past when I was doing group lessons, and I'm thinking about using it for webinars and recording interviews. The free package is sufficient for 99% of teachers; if you have a group lesson that lasts more than 40 minutes, you would need to upgrade.
Haidang Vu (4 years ago)
Great, many thanks for sharing this Jack :)
Teaching ESL Online (4 years ago)
You're welcome. Thanks for watching and commenting!
Ian Evans (4 years ago)
Hi Jack. I use this all the time. It isn't a drawback with the students not knowing because when you open zoom at the teacher end, the URL meeting link is automatically put into your clipboard. Just paste this into the skype chat and send a message saying your lesson is now starting - please click this link. 30 seconds later the student is in the room. It takes a bit longer the first time but after that it's no problem. I have had customers on skype keep dropping out - zoom them and the problem goes away.
Teaching ESL Online (4 years ago)
Thanks Ian. It is pretty simple to get started with Zoom, but certain students would need a bit of a push to use it. One other thing about it not being well known is that "English by Zoom" is not exactly searched for, therefore it would be difficult to get organic search this way. But... this shouldn't stop people from utilizing the platform.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.